Out of Your Reach

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Out of Your Reach.”

DAILY PROMPT
Out of Your Reach
Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.
Thanks the suggestion, Jen Rosenberry!

There was one thing that I always wanted as a kid but never received. Many birthdays and Christmas days came and went but what I was searching for was never there. I could understand, they were fairly expensive and it was just something that children in lower income families didn’t get to play with very often. I was fortunate to have a friend whose parents even had a big boat. I hope I didn’t become friends with him because he owned a Lionel Train Set. He had the largest train set I had ever seen, it spread over one room in his house. I can hardly describe it, almost enough track to get to Chicago. He had depots, bridges, tunnels, railroad crossings, flashing lights, smoke coming out of the engines, it was truly an inspiring site for my young mind. I spent a lot of time at his house. He didn’t mind letting me share in his wealth and it was a lot of fun.

Later on in life, my brother and I were 10 and 11 years old when we moved to a town that was a very busy railroad town. I soon came to the conclusion, I now had my train set. We would go down by the tracks and play around the different trains while they were switching cars and moving them around, and changing engines. Oh, what a time we had, we once in a while hopped a ride, hanging onto the side of a car and riding for a ways, that was quite an adrenaline rush. As we got braver we rode out to the edge of town then jumped off before the train got going too fast.

We were living in the days before electronic games and TV, so we made our own entertainment you might say. One of my favorite places was the old roundhouse where those big steam engines got turned around and sent them back the other direction. I would crawl down and hide underneath the turntable and watch all the action going on up above, those were kind of exciting and scary times. The railroad people were always trying to chase us away but I think they probably concluded. Those kids don’t have much to go home to, I do believe they overlooked some of our presence there. We were always careful, I remember any time we crawled underneath a train to get across the tracks we were very, very careful. My brother and I still have all of our legs today, and some fairly unusual memories.

2 thoughts on “Out of Your Reach

Leave a Reply

