Zapped With 110 Volts

 

electric-shock.jpg

Benjamin Franklin, quotes, “Haste makes waste.” “Either write somethingworth reading or do something worth writing.”

Mark Twain “Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities; Truth isn’t.”

Haste makes waste, but haste is also very close friends with injury. I had a dentist appointment for around noon one time and I had a project out by the garage. I just felt I had to get it done right now. I started off in a big hurry, the idea was to cut a piece of roofing metal. It was about 8 feet long, I had to us a saber saw with a metal blade in it to cut a hole to fit into a certain place where I wanted this roofing metal to be installed. Everything was measured twice.

I got the roofing metal, but my workshop table was too small a place to work on it. I took it outside and threw it on the ground, the grass was still wet from heavy dew. Never thinking about the possibility of something going wrong with an electric saw on wet grass. This was right out in our backyard right near the kitchen window, we were living out in the country at that time. I got the metal where I wanted it, grabbed the old trusty saber saw and I got down on my hands and knees ready to cut the metal. When I tried to plug that extension cord into the saw the electricity grabbed onto my hand from the end of the extension cord. It never did get plugged into the saw. I fell over on my right side and that extension cord jumped around like a big snake biting into my right hand.

I was laying there in full view of the kitchen window it was about 1130. I just knew for sure my wife wouldn’t be looking out the kitchen window, she was in the dining room watching The Young and the Restless. How can so many things run through a person’s mind in an instant is a mystery for someone to figure out. I had a fast playing video of many bad things that I had done in my life, that was playing at at blurring speed. I tried to YELL for help, no voice come out of my mouth. Electricity was still going through me into my hand, through my arm and out my right shoulder into the wet ground. I was in a real panic, felt sure that was the end, all of a sudden it was like a little voice calmed me down.

It was as if this voice came to me and said, “Hey Dummy, pull the extension cord out of the garage wall.” I’m not sure if it was the Lord talking to me, just doesn’t seem he would have called me ‘dummy’ may be that day he would’ve. I somehow reached behind me with my left arm got a hold of the cord and pulled as hard as I could, that extension cord came out of the garage plugin. It finally let go of that terrible bite it had on the palm of my hand. The amazing part, I was laying there looking up at the sky thinking, “I’m still alive!” Seconds before I was very sure, that was going to be the end of me, laying in the backyard while my wife watches television. I managed to get up and staggered into the house, I was very weak. My wife didn’t seem to notice anything out of the ordinary. I sat down in my chair and tried to relax. The pain in my right hand was really bad and my shoulder was throbbing like crazy. I told my wife were supposed to be at the dentist office in about an hour. She said, “That’s right we better get in gear.” I asked her to do something with my hand and she proceeded to have an old fashioned conniption when I told her what happened.

When we got to the dentists office my wife, the one who will tell all, immediately started telling the dentist about my electrocution shortly before we left the house. He was just getting started working on my teeth. He asked his assistant to bring in his blood pressure equipment and he took my blood pressure. Then he said, “Lets just forget about your teeth for today, you better maybe go see a doctor.” So we drove 80 miles to Sioux Falls to the Veterans Hospital. I checked into the emergency room and they told me to take a seat. We sat there for over an hour, my wife finally went and talked to someone, tried to explain to them that I had been electrocuted and maybe they should take a look at me.

The first doctor got me in the examining room and I tried to tell him what had happened. He said, “Your shoulder muscles are all still firing like you’re hooked on to the electricity yet. He got a couple other doctors and interns to come to show and tell. They looked at my burned hand and looked at my shoulder and commented, this is quite a day. We usually don’t get to talk to to the ones that been electrocuted. The right shoulder muscles were all twitching and jumping, trying to go in every direction possible. That went on for many hours. The pain was beyond uncomfortable.

My hand was very slow to heal the pain left the shoulder within a couple months but it has been a lot weaker ever since. There is a lesson to be learned here, don’t be in a hurry, use common sense working around electrical tools so you don’t end up in a predicament like I got myself into.

An aunt of mine stopped to visit a couple days later she told me she thought I should quit using up my nine lines because I would soon be running out, at the pace I had been using them for the last 40 years.

We wonder why things happen the way they do? We feel that surely someone is looking out for us. I know an Angel was there for me that day. I have been calling on the Lord a lot in these Golden Years. Hope he don’t say, “Don’t call me, I’ll call you one of these days.”

2 thoughts on “Zapped With 110 Volts

Leave a Reply

