If I Could Turn Back Time

brain.jpg

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/if-i-could-turn-back-time/

DAILY PROMPT
https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/if-i-could-turn-back-time/
If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?

Today’s assignment:” publish a post based on your own, personalized take on a blogging prompt. There was a time in this world when you got a lot of your “education out behind the barn.” now you can get smartened up a whole bunch right at WordPress.com.

WordPress.com chooses these daily prompts as a way to set our blogging minds in motion, shake the roost, rattle the cage to get some action, hopefully at a rapid learning pace. Now I find this new assignment an impossible thing to accomplish because I have no time machine. I am quite confident I will not find one, even at Radio Shack! I will give it a go though, if one becomes available to me at any time in the near future. For that reason I do not think I’m going to be returning to the past to relive any part of my life.

The prompt does raise an exciting question, everyone must have a special part of their life they would just love to redo. “To relive and not redo”, will just leave you wanting again. What has been done in the past, is over, no more, kaputz, finished. Why have another shot at burning an old bridge?

I know each day of my life has been guided, nurtured and molded or influenced by many different people. It would be an impossible thing to go back through my life and through all of my interactions with many different people, friends, family. teachers. employers, drill instructors, and others. The human being will never be changed by external forces, or wishes. Any change will have to come from within.

The whole point behind these prompts is to set the mind in motion, get that high powered, high velocity imagination churning out some thoughts, like throwing a little gas on the fire! The new prompt thought suggestions search for a entry into the mind, which level to enter, study, write, edit or publish? After much sorting and collating most goes to the round file.

Prompts make for a very exciting teasing event in the thought process, pushing our mental activities to new limits, maybe warp, if not turbo speed. The human brain is a very large, complex , wrinkled organ, yet influenced by proper prompting. The mind could take any story written or verbal, redo it, reformat, rewrite it, to have something new and possibly better each time. That must be where authors take the Blog ball and run with it.

There was one thing in my life I would use the time machine for. I would go back to a night in June of 1964. I would not get behind the steering wheel of my car. That is the night I received a broken back when I went to asleep at the wheel driving.
I haven’t had to travel back in time or use my imagination or recall drugs. I have relived that night thousands and thousands of times during my life. If that hadn’t happened I may have fallen out of my tree stand while deer hunting, stuff happens. Nothing has changed. Somebody once made this statement, “Trials and tribulation build perseverance.” I now know a few things about perseverance.

“Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan Press On! has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.”
‘Calvin Coolidge’

I was convinced that it was over; I was ready to give up; throw in the towel; call it a day. The human mind and life in that body, came as a package deal. It is a stand alone time machine, one package, it is almost incorruptible. If you continue to Press On and live the best life possible, you will overcome any obstacle that is thrown out to snare you. You’ll just be able to leap over it and not look back, you just keep on going.

That is kinda of what this blogging is all about, expanding and growing, always improving.
Blogging U.

3 thoughts on “If I Could Turn Back Time

  1. I am so sorry that you had this accident. My husband also had an accident where he fell off of a rooftop and broke his back. It was a very traumatic event for him, so I understand completely why this is one that will continue to haunt you.

    You also teach a tremendous lesson about life and how you should never give up no matter what it brings. Very admirable Leland.

    Like

  2. My husband had fallen off a telephone pole, and broke his back, before we were married. He rarely speaks about that time of his life, but he says enough to give me a sense of compassion for anyone who has gone through something like that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

