Non-Notorious Me

notorious
Daily Post
May 19, 2017
DAILY PROMPT
Notorious/

Did You Know?
“Notorious was adopted into English in the 16th century from Medieval Latin notorius, itself from Late Latin’s noun notorium, meaning “information” or “indictment.” “Notorium,” in turn, derives from the Latin verb noscere, meaning “to come to know.” Although “notorious” can be a synonym of “famous,” meaning simply “widely known,” it long ago developed the additional implication of someone or something unpleasant or undesirable. The Book of Common Prayer Offices of 1549 includes the first known use of the unfavorable meaning in print, referring to “notorious synners.”
Notorious

Non-Notorious Me
I just read the meaning of notorious in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, all of a sudden I became very depressed. Notorious can mean widely known and well-known for good things. It could also be well-known or notorious as a bank robber, or an Axe Murderer. What really shook me up, I don’t believe I’m notorious for anything.

That leaves me somewhat in limbo, twisting in the wind, so to speak. I will have to study this hard, try to recall comments from anyone and everyone, for clues about any notoriety I might possess. It could be good and it might be bad but not secret, then nobody would know, I don’t even know for sure because nobody tells me. Some give me funny looks. Somebody gave me a clue once, I might have bad breath. Being notorious for bad breath would be the world’s worst thing to be notorious for! I didn’t take a chance, I easily solved the problem with a case of sen-sen. Many who are out of the loop don’t even know what it is.

Somebody gave me a clue once, I might have bad breath. Being notorious for bad breath would be the world’s worst thing to be notorious for! I didn’t take a chance, I quickly, and easily solved the problem with a case of sen-sen. Many who are out of the loop don’t even know what Sen-Sen is.

sen

We are sad to announce that Sen-Sen has been discontinued by the manufacturer and our supply is sold out. We are disappointed too. sen-sen

Now, what shall I do? My world just came crashing down around me, my bad breath could be the end of me, as I know myself. The Sen-Sen company is out of business I believe it’s an act of treason, this country, and the world will not be able to survive without Sen-Sen. Soon everyone will be wearing respirators and surgical masks,. I can see the handwriting, scrawled all over the walls, written by some Notorious graffiti artist.

https://lghoelson.wordpress.com/